Registration is closed Number of participants 350

Keynote Speakers

Keynote speakers will present national policies in the different countries and will define key problems of the conference, which will be developed during section meetings.

Russian Federation
Adviser to the President of the Russian Federation culture and art.

Graduated from the faculty of journalism of the Moscow State University. Worked in a journal “Students’ meridian” (1982-1992). Since 1988 he is a member of the Union of journalists of the USSR.

Main expert in the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation (1993-1994). In 1994 he was appointed General director of the State memorial and natural reserve “Museum-estate of Leo Tolstoy “Yasnaya Polyana””.

Read more

President of the Central council of the Association of museum workers of Russian regions (since 1997). This organization unites more than 500 museums from 30 regions of Russia. Is a representative of Russian Federation in NEMO (Net of European museum organizations).

President of the Russian committee of the International council of museums, ICOM Russia (since 2009). During some years he was a Head of the Public chamber of the Tula region and member of the Public chamber of the Russian Federation.

Vladimir Tolstoy – great great grandson of Leo Tolstoy, world famous Russian writer. He is an organizer of the congresses of Leo Tolstoy descendants and founder of the “Leo Tolstoy heritage” foundation. Founder of the annual International writers meetings in Yasnaya Polyana.

On 23 of May 2012 he was appointed Adviser to the President of the Russian Federation

Honored cultural worker of the Russian Federation, rewarded with the order of friendship.

Hermann Schaefer,
PhD, extraordinary Prof. of Economic and Social History University of Freiburg, Honorary Prof. Technical University Karlsruhe;

Founding President of the Museum and Foundation „Haus der Geschichte der Bundesrepublik Deutschland“ in Bonn/Leipzig/Berlin, Council of Europe Museum Award 1995;

Former Director General for Culture and Media, Chancellors Office Berlin, Deputy Minister;

Read more

Co-Founder/Advisor/Judge European Museum Academy, former Member/Judge European Museum Forum/European Museum of the Year Award/ICOM Germany.

ICOM Portugal Chair
Archaeologist. Expert in Ancient Prehistory (Palaeolithic).

Head of the Research Department (and Director between 1996 and 2012) of the National Archaeology Museum, Lisbon, Portugal, since 1980.

Invited professor of the University of Lisbon (Faculty of Letters, Department of History), since 2005.

Successively, President of the Board, President of the General-Assembly and President of the Fiscal Council the Portuguese Professional Association of Archaeologist (from 1998 to 2012).

Read more

President of the Fiscal Council of the Portuguese Association of Archaeology since 2012. Member of the Advisory Committee of the Portuguese National Committee of UNESCO since 2008.

Chair of the Portuguese National Committee of ICOM since 2008. Member of the Board of the Regional Alliance ICOM Europe since 2010. Appointed member of the ICOM Strategic Plan Evaluation Committee (2011-2013) and of the ICOM Working Group on the Statutes, Internal Rules and Regulations and Governance (2014-2016).

Promoter of the ICOM International Conferences on “Museums of Portuguese Speaking Communities and Countries” (2011) and “Public Policies towards Museums in Times of Crisi” (2013) and, in this framework co-author of the Lisbon Declaration (“Support Culture and Museums to Face the Global Crisis and Build the Future”, April 2013).

Collaborator in the installation of some local and regional archaeology museums. Co-author, scientific consultant or executive commissioner of nationwide and international exhibitions. Commissioner of national and international archaeological exhibitions.

Responsible for projects of archaeological field work in the valleys of the Tagus and Guadiana rivers, in the Southwestern Coast and in the outskirts of Lisbon.

Guest professor in several undergraduate and postgraduate courses in various national and foreign universities. Member of master’s degree and doctorate examining boards in Portuguese and foreign universities. Postgraduate studies’ supervisor of students who hold scholarships from the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation.

Representative of Portugal and/or of the Ministry for Culture in various committees appointed by the government. Member of postgraduate exams’ boards (master’s degree and doctorate) in Portugal and abroad. Responsible for research projects approved and/or financed by the Ministry of Culture, Ministry of Science and for several agreements on bilateral international cooperation. Member of the Gulbenkian Archaeology Award’s board (2000).

Member of the Network “Coordinating committee" on "The Palaeolithic Occupation of Europe," of the European Science Foundation, created by decision of the European Science Foundation’s governing bodies, in December 1992. Vice-President of the Committee on “Middle Palaeolithic bifacial tools, backed bifaces and leaf points in Western Eurasia”, from the International Union of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Sciences (UISPP).

Participant in numerous national and international scientific meetings, performing sometimes functions in scientific coordination of sections and panels. Co-author of university textbooks and specialized bibliography on Prehistory, Archaeology and Museology, published in national and foreign monographs and journals of the speciality (about 230 title, since 1972).